SQL Server 2005 Surface Area Configuration Tool

This article, discusses about the SQL Server 2005 Surface Area Configuration Tool.


What is SQL Server 2005 Surface Area Configuration Tool?

An important security improvement in Microsoft SQL Server 2005 is that various of its features that could be potentially susceptible to security risks are turned off by default.

One of these features is that the built-in administrator of the machine on which SQL Server 2005 is installed, it is not automatically included in the SQL Server Administrators (SysAdmin role).

In the case you want to change this setting, you have to use the SQL Server 2005 Surface Area Configuration tool.


Where Can I Find the Tool in SQL Server 2005?

This tool can be found within the “Microsoft SQL Server 2005” program group (Configuration Tools –> SQL Server Surface Area Configuration) in Start Menu –> Programs.

When running the tool, you have to select “Add New Administrator“. Then you will be presented the available SQL Server privileges which you can grant to your Windows user. Such privileges can be SQL Server SysAdmin role, Analysis Services Administrator role, etc.

Additionally you can use the Surface Area Configuration Tool for SQL Server Services, Connections and Features.

In SQL Server 2008 the Surface Area Configuration tool has been removed. The features of the tool have been replaced and enhanced by the powerful Policy-Based Management features.

A future post will explain in detail the Policy-Based Management Framework in SQL Server 2008.

For more information on using Policy-Based Management in Microsoft SQL Server 2008 you can visit the following Microsoft TechNet article.


Strengthen your SQL Server Administration Skills – Enroll to our Online Course!

Check our online course on Udemy titled “Essential SQL Server Administration Tips
(special limited-time discount included in link).

Via the course, you will learn essential hands-on SQL Server Administration tips on SQL Server maintenance, security, performance, integration, error handling and more. Many live demonstrations and downloadable resources included!

Essential SQL Server Administration Tips - Online Course with Live Demonstrations and Hands-on Guides
(Lifetime Access/ Live Demos / Downloadable Resources and more!)

Learn More


Featured Online Courses:



Read Also:


Subscribe to our newsletter and stay up to date!

Subscribe to our YouTube channel (SQLNetHubTV)!

Like our Facebook Page!

Check our SQL Server Administration articles.

Check out our latest software releases!

Check our eBooks!


Rate this article: 1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)


Reference: SQLNetHub.com (https://www.sqlnethub.com)

© SQLNetHub